Crowd

Cast

Conception, choreography and scenography Gisèle Vienne
Stage assistants Anja Röttgerkamp & Nuria Guiu Sagarra
Light Patrick Riou
Dramaturgy Gisèle Vienne & Dennis Cooper

Music selections from Underground Resistance, KTL, Vapour Space, DJ Rolando, Drexciya, The Martian, Choice, Jeff Mills, Peter Rehberg, Manuel Göttsching, Sun Electric & Global Communication
Edits and playlist selection Peter Rehberg
Sound diffusion supervisor Stephen O’Malley

Performers Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Kerstin Daley-Baradel, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rémi Hollant, Oskar Landström, Theo Livesey, Louise Perming, Katia Petrowick, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg & Tyra Wigg

Costumes Gisèle Vienne with the colaboration of Camille Queval & the performers

Technical manager Richard Pierre
Set manager Antoine Hordé
Sound engineer Adrien Michel
Light manager Arnaud Lavisse

Thanks to Margret Sara Guðjónsdóttir & Louise Bentkowski

Production and touring Alma Office Anne-Lise Gobin, Alix Sarrade & Camille Queval
Administration Etienne Hunsinger

Music in order of appearance:
Underground Resistance The Illuminator (Underground Resistance, 1995)
KTL Lampshade (exclusive, 2017)
Vapour Space Gravitational Arch Of 10 (Plus 8, 1993)
DJ Rolando Vibrations mix (Underground Resistance, 2002)
Underground Resistance Sweat Electric (Somewhere In Detroit, 1994)
Underground Resistance Twista (Underground Resistance, 1993)
Drexciya Wavejumper (Underground Resistance, 1995)
The Martian The Intruder (Red Planet, 1992)
Underground Resistance Code Red (Underground Resistance, 1993)
Underground Resistance Lunar Rhythms (Somewhere In Detroit, 1995)
Underground Resistance Hi-Tech Funk (Underground Resistance, 1997)
Choice Acid Eiffel (Fragile Records, 1992)
Jeff Mills Phase 4 (Tresor/Axis, 1992)
Peter Rehberg Furgen Matrix/Telegene (exclusive, 2017)
Manuel Göttsching E2-E4 (Inteam, 1984)
Sun Electric Sarotti (R&S Records, 1993)
Global Communication 14 31 (Ob-selon Mi-Nos) (Evolution, 1994)

Partners

Producer DACM

Coproducers Nanterre-Amandiers CDN // Le Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – Scène européenne // Wiener Festwochen, Vienne // Le Manège Scène nationale de Reims // Théâtre National de Bretagne, Rennes // CDN Orléans/Loiret/Centre // BIT Teatergarasjen, Bergen // La Filature Scène nationale de Mulhouse

With the support of CCN2 – Centre Chorégraphique National de Grenoble and CND Centre national de la danse

Presentation

With Crowd, you are continuing your examination of our fantasmatic universe and the relationship between art and the sacred, something that has characterized your productions from the very beginning.  However, isn’t this the first time that you are dealing with this subject in its collective dimension, and with such a large number of performers?

 

Up until The Pyre (2013) my pieces, regardless of the number of performers, have largely been about private space and superimposed intimacies through persons who are often rather isolated.  Now, after The Ventriloquists Convention (2015), this is the second time that I’m depicting a group whose social activity and interactions play a central role.  This group is certainly very different from that of the ventriloquists’ convention, since it’s a group of young people who have come together out of a desire for feelings of euphoria and out of a common interest in a musical genre, techno.  The context chosen is that of a party.  The staging of the group fits in nicely with the question of intimacy and its relation to the group, and the relationship between individual and collective emotions.

 

From the very beginning I’ve been interested in questions raised by sociologists, anthropologists, and philosophers on the relationship between the artistic and the religious and especially those thoughts and emotions which are improper, of their spaces of expression – archaic and contemporary, actual and potential. Whether it be eroticism, death, or violence, for example, these are issues that concern each of us and can disturb us, and might even jeopardize the community, depending on the way in which they are experienced.

 

With Crowd, there are often exhilarating aspects and outlets of expression of intensified emotions that develop through desire and the complex longing for love. The persons who go to this party, and thus form a community, are prepared to experience particularly intense emotions of any kind, and reach a state where their senses are already very much heightened. The group becomes excited by a piece where the structure and certain behaviors evoke various rituals. In the face of this emotional rollercoaster, the audience can likewise enter into a physical and emotional rapport with the piece.

 

What kind of place does music have in this work?

 

Peter Rehberg, who possesses an excellent knowledge of electronic music, proposed a number of tracks and on the basis of those I arrived at a selection for Crowd.  He then did detailed work for the final mix.

 

I find it interesting that this selection in fact has a genuine historical relevance, since it’s made up of records that are important for the history of electronic dance music – works by musicians that are significant for the Detroit scene, among others, with Jeff Mills and other people from Underground Resistance, plus Manuel Göttsching, for example.  The aim was to create a mix that covers an entire range of essential sounds that has been exciting for us over the last forty years.

 

Besides these tracks, which are used over the greater part of the production, there’s also an original piece composed by KTL (Stephen O’Malley and Peter Rehberg) and another by Peter Rehberg on his own.

 

And what is the role of Dennis Cooper’s text?  You yourself have talked of a “subtext”…

 

The pieces – as is the world itself – are made up of different layers of texts, though not entirely.  Language is not located solely in the realm of audibility.  In Jerk (2008) the actor speaks throughout the entire play; with I Apologize (2004) very similar issues arise, although the same actor does not say a single word from the beginning to the very end.  What Dennis Cooper and I have been passionate about, right from the start of our long collaboration, is the attempt with each project to reinvent new relationships to the text, to language, to speech, and to narration, and new ways of writing for the stage.

 

The “subtext” of Crowd is a text that is not audible but is partly intelligible. In Crowd, the fifteen dancers also constitute individual personae whose psychologies, imaginations, feelings, and histories are in each case very different.  When you’re observing a party, there’s a huge number of “stories” that are unfolding right before your eyes; in Crowd there are histories and portraits of persons that Dennis has developed based on work done with the actors, which refines and influences the creation of the piece.  This aspect of the piece brings to mind the process of mixing in music.  It involves a mixing of narrations, as though you have fifteen different music tracks and you’re adjusting their respective volume levels, and thus a composition that allows the audience to have a key role in the way in which they will see and experience the piece.

 

This dissociation of the various planes – dream vs. reality, real vs. fantasy – that produces a feeling of time distortion is another characteristic of your work.

 

Crowd has a very rich formal potential.  One of the central components of this type of piece occurs by way of the multiple stylization of the movements and their montage. This is not an imitation of the movements reworked, but a very intimate interpretation guided by the emotions and the intentions that can motivate the performers, their attentiveness, and their greater reception of what is unfolding around them. I likewise work with subdivisions – at certain points the dancers are going to all be in the same type of stylization, a common language, and at others they will be in a different type of gesture. This creates a very rich range of rhythmical and musical vibrations resulting in a slightly altered perception that is somewhat reminiscent of a hallucinatory or hypnotic feeling, and still producing meaning.  In fact, this musical and choreographic work itself allows a narrative work to be created.  This play of rhythms provokes a very strong feeling of time distortion.  These distortions are highly dynamic, while simultaneously stretching time, making it possible to observe the persons and situations from close-up, and to dissect their actions in detail.  Various temporalities are superimposed, through the same movements, but also in their relationship to the music and lighting, whose relationship to time varies almost constantly.

 

Interview by David Sanson for the Festival d’Automne à Paris 2017

Next performances

History

Crowd

Générique

Pour Kerstin

 

Conception, chorégraphie et scénographie Gisèle Vienne
Assistée de Anja Röttgerkamp & Nuria Guiu Sagarra
Lumière Patrick Riou
Dramaturgie Gisèle Vienne & Dennis Cooper

Musique Underground Resistance, KTL, Vapour Space, DJ Rolando, Drexciya, The Martian, Choice, Jeff Mills, Peter
Rehberg, Manuel Göttsching, Sun Electric & Global Communication
Montage et sélection des musiques Peter Rehberg
Conception de la diffusion du son Stephen O’Malley

Interprétation Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Kerstin Daley-Baradel, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rémi Hollant, Oskar Landström, Theo Livesey, Louise Perming, Katia Petrowick, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg & Tyra Wigg

Costumes Gisèle Vienne en collaboration avec Camille Queval & les interprètes
Régie générale Richard Pierre
Régie plateau Antoine Hordé
Ingénieur son Adrien Michel
Régie lumière Arnaud Lavisse

Remerciements à Louise Bentkowski, Dominique Brun, Patric Chiha, Zac Farley, Uta Gebert, Margret Sara Guðjónsdóttir, Isabelle Piechaczyk, Arco Renz, Jean-Paul Vienne et Dorothéa Vienne-Pollak

Production et diffusion Alma Office Anne-Lise Gobin, Alix Sarrade & Camille Queval
Administration Etienne Hunsinger

Musique dans l’ordre de diffusion :

Underground Resistance The Illuminator (Underground Resistance, 1995)
KTL Lampshade (exclusive, 2017)
Vapour Space Gravitational Arch Of 10 (Plus 8, 1993)
DJ Rolando Vibrations mix (Underground Resistance, 2002)
Underground Resistance Sweat Electric (Somewhere In Detroit, 1994)
Underground Resistance Twista (Underground Resistance, 1993)
Drexciya Wavejumper (Underground Resistance, 1995)
The Martian The Intruder (Red Planet, 1992)
Underground Resistance Code Red (Underground Resistance, 1993)
Underground Resistance Lunar Rhythms (Somewhere In Detroit, 1995)
Underground Resistance Hi-Tech Funk (Underground Resistance, 1997)
Choice Acid Eiffel (Fragile Records, 1992)
Jeff Mills Phase 4 (Tresor/Axis, 1992)
Peter Rehberg Furgen Matrix/Telegene (exclusive, 2017)
Manuel Göttsching E2-E4 (Inteam, 1984)
Sun Electric Sarotti (R&S Records, 1993)
Global Communication 14 31 (Ob-selon Mi-Nos) (Evolution, 1994)

Partenaires

Production DACM

Coproduction Nanterre-Amandiers CDN // Le Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – Scène européenne // Wiener Festwochen, Vienne // Le Manège Scène nationale de Reims // Théâtre National de Bretagne, direction Arthur Nauzyciel // CDN Orléans/Loiret/Centre // La Filature Scène nationale de Mulhouse // BIT Teatergarasjen, Bergen

Avec le soutien du CCN2 – Centre Chorégraphique National de Grenoble et du CND Centre national de la danse

Présentation

Avec Crowd, vous poursuivez la réflexion sur l’investigation de nos univers fantasmatiques et le rapport de l’art au sacré, qui caractérise vos spectacles depuis vos débuts. Mais n’est-ce pas la première fois que vous abordez ce sujet dans sa dimension collective, avec un aussi grand nombre d’interprètes ?

 

Jusqu’à The Pyre (2013), mes pièces, quel que soit le nombre d’interprètes, traitaient beaucoup de l’espace intime et d’intimités superposées, à travers des personnes souvent assez isolées. Après The Ventriloquists Convention (2015), c’est la deuxième fois que je mets en scène un groupe dont les interactions et la sociabilité sont un enjeu central. Ce groupe est certes très différent de celui de la convention de ventriloquie, puisque c’est un groupe de jeunes gens réunis dans un désir d’exaltation des sentiments, autour d’un intérêt partagé pour un genre musical, la techno. Le contexte choisi étant celui d’une fête. La mise en scène du groupe intègre bien sûr la question de l’intimité et de ses rapports au groupe, et le rapport des émotions individuelles et collectives.

Depuis mes débuts, je m’intéresse aux questions posées par les sociologues, les anthropologues, les philosophes sur le rapport de l’art au religieux et sur tout ce qui serait de l’ordre des pensées et sentiments inconvenants, de leurs espaces d’expressions archaïques et contemporains existants et possibles. Que ce soit l’érotisme, la mort, la violence, par exemple, il s’agit de sujets qui préoccupent chacun d’entre nous et qui peuvent perturber, voire mettre en péril la collectivité selon la manière dont ils s’expriment.

 

Avec Crowd, ce sont souvent les aspects jubilatoires et exutoires de l’expression de sentiments exacerbés qui se développent, à travers le désir et l’envie complexe d’amour. Les personnes, faisant communauté, qui vont à cette fête, sont disposées à traverser des expériences émotionnelles particulièrement fortes, de tout type, et arrivent dans un état où leurs sens sont déjà très excités. Ce groupe s’exalte à travers une pièce dont la structure et certains comportements évoquent de nombreux rituels. Face à ce grand huit émotionnel, les spectateurs peuvent également être dans un rapport très physique et très sensible à la pièce.

 

Quelle est la place de la musique dans ce spectacle ?

 

Peter Rehberg, qui a une excellente connaissance de la musique électronique, m’a proposé un certain nombre de musiques, à partir desquelles j’ai réalisé une sélection pour la pièce, il a ensuite travaillé finement leur agencement.

 

Il me semblait intéressant, en effet, que cette sélection ait une vraie pertinence historique, qu’elle soit composée de morceaux signifiants pour l’histoire de la musique électronique : des œuvres de musiciens marquants de la scène de Detroit entre autres, avec Jeff Mills et d’autres artistes d’Underground Resistance à Manuel Göttsching, par exemple. Il s’agissait de balayer également une sélection significative des sonorités qui excitent nos sens depuis les quarante dernières années.

Outre cette sélection de morceaux, présente durant la majeure partie de la pièce, il y a également un morceau original créé par KTL (Stephen O’Malley et Peter Rehberg) et un autre, de Peter Rehberg.

 

Quant au texte de Dennis Cooper, quel est son statut ?

Vous parlez vous-même de « sous-texte » …

 

Les pièces, pour ne pas dire le monde, sont constituées de différentes couches de textes. La langue n’est pas qu’à l’endroit de l’audible. Dans Jerk (2008), où le comédien parle du début à la fin, on pose des questions très voisines d’I Apologize (2004), où ce même comédien ne dit pas un mot du début à la fin. Ce qui nous passionne, Dennis Cooper et moi, depuis le début de notre très longue collaboration, c’est d’essayer de réinventer, avec chaque projet, de nouveaux rapports au texte, à la langue, à la parole, à la narration et de nouvelles manières d’écrire pour la scène.

Le « sous-texte » de Crowd est un texte qui n’est pas audible mais en partie intelligible. Dans Crowd, les quinze danseurs, sur scène, sont aussi des personnes dont la psychologie, l’imagination, les sentiments et l’histoire sont des composantes essentielles de la pièce. Nous travaillons la dimension narrative et psychologique de chacune de ces personnes très différentes. Lorsque l’on observe une fête, il y a énormément d’« histoires » qui se déroulent sous nos yeux : ce sont ces histoires et ces portraits de personnes que Dennis développe à partir du travail réalisé avec les interprètes, qui affinent et influencent l’écriture de la pièce. L’écriture de cette pièce rappelle le travail de mixage en musique, il s’agit là un mixage de narrations, comme si vous aviez quinze pistes musicales dont vous moduliez les volumes respectifs, composition qui laisse également au spectateur une part déterminante dans la manière dont il va voir et traverser la pièce.

 

Cette dissociation des plans – rêve/réalité, réel/fantasme –, qui produit un sentiment de distorsion du temps, est une autre caractéristique de votre travail…

 

Crowd a un potentiel formel très riche, une des composantes centrales de ce type d’écriture se fait à travers la stylisation multiple des mouvements et leur montage. Cette stylisation n’est pas une imitation de ces mouvements retouchés, mais une interprétation très intime motivée par les émotions et les intentions qui peuvent animer les interprètes, leur écoute et leur grande réception de ce qui se déploie autour d’eux. J’opère également des subdivisions, à certains moments les danseurs vont être dans un même type de stylisation, une langue commune, à d’autres, ils seront dans un type de gestuelle différent. Cela crée des vibrations rythmiques et musicales très riches, qui génèrent une légère altération de la perception, qui n’est pas sans rappeler un sentiment hallucinatoire ou hypnotisant tout en produisant du sens. En effet, cette écriture musicale et chorégraphique permet, en soi, de développer une écriture narrative. Ces jeux rythmiques provoquent une sensation très forte de distorsion temporelle. Ces distorsions sont très dynamiques et, en même temps, étirent le temps, permettant de regarder les personnes et situations à la loupe et de disséquer les détails de leurs actions. Différentes temporalités se superposent, à travers les mouvements même, mais aussi dans leur rapport à la musique et à la lumière, dont le rapport au temps diffère presque constamment.

 

Propos recueillis par David Sanson pour le Festival d’Automne à Paris 2017

Prochaines représentations

Historique