I Apologize

Cast

Created by Gisèle Vienne
Texts, written and read by Dennis Cooper
Original music performed live by Peter Rehberg
Light Patrick Riou
Make-up Rebecca Flores
Dolls created by Raphaël Rubbens, Dorothéa Vienne-Pollak & Gisèle Vienne
Translation from English-American to French by Laurence Viallet

Created in collaboration with, and performed by Jonathan Capdevielle, Anja Röttgerkamp (or Katia Petrowick) & Jean-Luc Verna

Partners

Executive producer DACM

Coproducers Les Subsistances, Lyon //  WP-Zimmer, AnversWith the support of Centre Chorégraphique National de Grenoble in the frame of Accueil-studio (2004), Ministère de la Culture – Drac Rhône-Alpes, Région Rhône-Alpes, Conseil Général de l’Isère & ske (Autriche)

With the support of Institut International de la Marionnette &  Compagnie des Indes for the video shooting

Acknowledgements to Anne-Claire Rigaud, Minijy / Clara Rousseau, Séverine Péan, Sophie Metrich, Esther Welger Barboza, Les Ateliers de construction du Théâtre de Grenoble, Boutique Catherine Lafon – Lyon, Robrecht Ghesquière, Mark Harwood, Jean-Paul Hirsch, Martin Lecarme, Antoine Masure, Paul Otchakov-Laurens, Isabelle Piechaczyk, Béatrice Rozycki, Estelle Rullier, Yury Smirnov, Alexandre Vienne, Jean-Paul Vienne & Villa Gillet

Presentation

Having choreographed and staged Splendid’s (2000), Showroomdummies (2001), Stéréotypie (2003) and Tranen Veinzen (2004) with Etienne Bideau-Rey, and having centred my work on the relationship between natural and artificial bodies, I am now aiming, with I Apologize, to explore this topic further and to work at the same time on the idea of a disturbing strangeness, this time through an accident reconstruction.

I Apologize was born out of this reconstruction, which is the basis from which several versions of the same event derive, in order to define its truth and reality. These various versions take on a blurred identity, somewhere between the representation of a real event and the representation of a fantasy, and are the foundation of the structure of the play, a reflection on reality, and of the possible representations of reality.

A young man is in charge of these different versions of reality, by directing a man and a woman, both baroque and rock icons, and twenty-odd young girls, all aged around twelve, represented by articulated dolls. Confusion slowly creeps in our perception of reality, which thus appears as a world of approximations and subjectivity, whose gaping holes we fill with our own fantasies.
American author Dennis Cooper has written poems and monologues especially for this show, which question the real or imagined link between those and the events happening on the stage. Cooper himself will be reading these texts, which are intricately linked to Peter Rehberg’s musical score. The texts and staging of the play interact and conjure up images associated to sexual desire, death and crime. They raise issues about imagination in relation to fantasy and its impossible fulfilment.

Although music and words are at the core of the show, bodies and dolls – and therefore the aesthetic offering – are also at the centre of the project. This is why this show, although undeniably influenced by choreography, is nonetheless derived from a work process that is truly one of a puppeteer.
This work is designed to be an exploration of the emotions that are born of the intricate link between eroticism, death, and the disturbing stillness of dolls and puppets.

Historical

Press

I Apologize

Générique

Conception Gisèle Vienne
Textes écrits et lus par Dennis Cooper
Musique originale et interprétation live Peter Rehberg
Lumière Patrick Riou
Maquillage Rebecca Flores
Création des poupées Raphaël Rubbens, Dorothéa Vienne-Pollak & Gisèle Vienne
Pour le surtitrage, les textes sont traduits de l’américain au français par Laurence Viallet

Créé en collaboration avec, et interprété par Jonathan Capdevielle, Anja Röttgerkamp (ou Katia Petrowick) & Jean-Luc Verna

Partenaires

Production déléguée DACM

Coproduction Les Subsistances, Lyon // WP-Zimmer, AnversAvec le soutien du Centre Chorégraphique National de Grenoble dans le cadre de l’Accueil Studio 2004, du Ministère de la Culture – Drac Rhône-Alpes, de la Région Rhône-Alpes, du Conseil Général de l’Isère & de ske (Autriche)

Avec le soutien de l’Institut International de la Marionnette et de la Compagnie des Indes pour la captation

Remerciements à Anne-Claire Rigaud, Minijy / Clara Rousseau, Séverine Péan, Sophie Metrich, Esther Welger Barboza, Les Ateliers de construction du Théâtre de Grenoble, Boutique Catherine Lafon – Lyon, Robrecht Ghesquière, Mark Harwood, Jean-Paul Hirsch, Martin Lecarme, Antoine Masure, Paul Otchakov-Laurens, Isabelle Piechaczyk, Béatrice Rozycki, Estelle Rullier, Yury Smirnov, Alexandre Vienne, Jean-Paul Vienne & la Villa Gillet

Présentation

I Apologize part de la reconstitution d’un accident. Cette reconstitution engendre plusieurs versions de l’évènement afin d’en cerner la réalité. Diverses, elles ont un statut trouble entre mises en scène d’un évènement réel et mises en scène d’un fantasme; elles génèrent la structure de la pièce, une réflexion sur la réalité et ses représentations hypothétiques.
Ces différentes versions, dirigées par un jeune homme mettent en scène un homme et une femme, icônes à la fois rock et baroques et une vingtaine d’adolescentes d’une douzaine d’années sous la forme de poupées articulées, installent progressivement la confusion dans la perception du réel, domaine de l’inexactitude, de la subjectivité dont les lacunes seront comblées par nos fantasmes.
L’écrivain américain Dennis Cooper a écrit des poèmes et des monologues pour cette pièce, en s’interrogeant sur leur lien réel ou imaginé avec ce qui se passe sur le plateau. Les textes sont lus par l’écrivain lui-même et sont intimement liés à la création musicale de Peter Rehberg. Textes et mise en scène se mêlent, évoquant le rapport entre le désir érotique, la mort et le crime. Ils soulèvent les questions de l’imagination liée au fantasme et son impossible réalisation.
Si la musique et les textes sont à la base de l’écriture du spectacle, ce sont autant les corps et les poupées, et de cette manière, la proposition plastique qui sont les éléments premiers de la conception du spectacle. En ce sens, cette pièce, tout en s’inscrivant dans le champ chorégraphique, relève pourtant bien d’une démarche de travail proprement marionnettique.
Il s’agit d’une exploration de l’émotion qui naît du lien intime entre l’érotisme, la mort et l’immobilité perturbante de la poupée.

Prochaines représentations

Historique

Presse